Roughing It

Cut your meat against the grain, iphone photo by author

Cut against the grain, iphone photo by author

Way down in Texas some time ago

I don’t remember when

It happened one day I hit the road

If I ever get back home this time I’m staying

Tonight I’ll be sleeping  out in the rough

If I’d only listened to cut against the grain

Life wouldn’t be so tough

Sometimes it gets lonely if it was only the hunger that pain

I’m little Ryan a boy now a man

A can picker in Duluth

No one sees me for who I am

Like the faded photo’s taken years ago at a Texas photo booth

No one knows where I am

Cut against the grain to get the tenderest meat

Some magazine guy stopped today and said he was here to meet the night train

He took my picture and headed away, will the folks know it’s me

Will they ever see me roughing it and say he never learned to cut against the grain

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under bike advocacy

Leave a Reply

